Bladesinger? Inspiration! Gunmages and Psions

Have you seen the new bladesinger class for 4e?

The bladesinger operates primary by using melee basic attacks and augmenting them with at-wills that trigger on a hit.
The also have an ability to temporarily take it up a notch.
Aside from that they get limited access to wizard encounter powers (used as daily powers).

I find the class and its simple yet elegant mechanics quite intriguing. I hope to soon get my hands of the Neverwinter Campaign Setting to learn more about it.

Using a simple augment to a basic attack was one of the methods I pondered for the original design for the gunmage, but my idea wasn’t that great and was scrapped. This, however, is what I was looking for at that point.

I don’t really want to scrap the class that I developed, but I plan on doing a quick alternate version borrowing from recent classes.

More so than, just the gunmage, I have been noodling on how to rework psionics. The psionic classes presented in PHB3 were interesting, but they don’t work for me. They were an interesting experiment, but more recent classes have shown more elegant methods for doing many of the things they were trying.

I have some ideas that I want to play with:
-Psionic basic attack
-Power point economy
-Separate augments from at-wills
-Psionic flavor (bursting with ectoplasm!)

This entry was posted in Custom Content, D&D 4E and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bladesinger? Inspiration! Gunmages and Psions

  1. Pingback: Essentially a gunmage | SURPRISE ROUND 不意打ち!

Leave a Reply

